The Principality of Liechtenstein, located in central Europe on the east bank of the Rhine between Austria and Switzerland, has an area of 62 sq. mi. (157 sq. km.) and a population of 33,000. Capital: Vaduz. The economy is based on agriculture and light manufacturing. Canned goods, textiles, ceramics and precision instruments are exported. Liechtenstein assumed its present form in 1719 when the lordships of Schellenburg and Vaduz were merged into a principality. It was a member of the Rhine Confederation from 1806 to 1815, and of the German Confederation from 1815 to 1866 when it became independent. Liechtenstein?s long and close association with Austria was terminated by World War I. In 1921 it adopted the coinage of Switzerland, and two years later entered in to a customs union with the Swiss, who also operate its postal and telegraph systems and represent it in international affairs. The tiny principality abolished its army in 1868 and has avoided involvement in all European wars since that time. Rulers:,,, ,Prince John II, 1858-1929,, ,Prince Franz I, 1929-1938,, ,Prince Franz Josef II, 1938-1989,, ,Prince Hans Adam II, 1989-,, Monetary System:,,, ,1 Krone = 100 Heller to 1924,, ,1 Frank = 100 Rappen, 1924-,,