The seven United Arab Emirates (formerly known as the Trucial Sheikhdoms or States), located along the southern shore of the Persian Gulf, are comprised of the Sheikhdoms of Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al Qaiwain, Ras al-Khaimah, and Fujarah. They have a combined area of about 32,000 sq. mi. (83,600 sq. km.) and a population of 2.44 million. Capital: Abu Dhabi. Since the oil strikes of 1958-60, the economy has centered on petroleum. ,The Trucial States came under direct British influence in 1892 when the maritime truce treaty, enacted after the suppression of pirate activity along the Trucial Coast, was enlarged to enjoin the states from disposing of any territory, or entering into any foreign agreements, without British consent in return for British protection from external aggression. In March of 1971 Britain reaffirmed its decision to terminate its treaty relationships with the Trucial Sheikhdoms, whereupon the seven states joined with Bahrain and Qatar in an effort to form a union of Arab emirates under British protection. When the prospective members failed to agree on terms of union, Bahrain and Qatar declared their resp3ective independence in August and September 1971. Six of the Sheikhdoms united to form the United Arab Emirates on December 2, 1971. Ras al-Khaimah joined a few weeks later.,, Monetary System:,,, ,1 Dirham = 1000 Fils,,