The Danish West Indies (now the organized unincorporated territory of the Virgin Islands of the United States) consists of the islands of St. Thomas, St. John, St. Croix, and 62 islets located in the Caribbean Sea 40 miles (64 km.) east of Puerto Rico. The islands have a contributed area of 133 sq. mi. (344 sq. km.) and a population of 110,000. Capital: Charlotte Amalie. Tourism is the principal industry. Watch movements, costume jewelry, pharmaceuticals and rum are exported. ,The Virgin Islands were discovered by Columbus in 1493, during his second voyage to America. During the 17th century the islands, actually the peaks of a submerged mountain range, were held at various times by Spain, Holland, England, France and Denmark, and during the same period were favorite resorts of the buccaneers operating in the Caribbean and the coastal waters of eastern North America. Control of the 100-island chain finally passed to Denmark and England. The Danish islands were purchased by the United States in 1917 for $25 million, mainly because they command the Anegada Passage into the Caribbean Sea, a strategic point on the defense perimeter of the Panama Canal.,, ,Currency of the United States of America is now in circulation.,, Rulers:,,, ,Danish to 1917,, Monetary System:,,, ,25 West Indies Rigsdaler Courant = 20 Danish Rigsdaler Courant,, ,1 Franc = 20 Cents,, ,1 Daler = 5 Francs,, ,1 Dollar = 100 Cents,,